Bad Idea Monday

5 04 2010

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=clock&iid=285697″ src=”0282/d46413e4-cc57-42e2-aaa4-ff97dfec18c4.jpg?adImageId=12137266&imageId=285697″ width=”380″ height=”384″ /]

Last week was very strange for me. It was the first time I had done everything I was supposed to do and didn’t see results. Blame it on my monthly visitor, blame it on stress, blame it on Tiger Woods, whatever the reason, it really threw me off. I spent the entire week feeling like I was trying to play catch up and I couldn’t do it fast enough. Or at all. Last Monday I weighed in at 197.5, up a pound from the week before. I was confident that it was purely water weight and in a couple of days I would see the loss. Apparently not. I weighed in on Friday for a challenge and was at 196.5. Down a pound.

I really tried to let it not bother me. I had a really good weekend. Went out to my dad’s house on Saturday and ate really well, small portions and no carrot cake, which is a huge weakness of mine. Sunday I went for sushi with my mom, my sister and my sister’s boyfriend. I only eat there once or twice a year so I probably overindulged a bit. Or a lot. But there’s no way it was anymore near enough to counteract all of my other days of great eating and exercising. But lo and behold, I’m up half a pound from Friday, but down half a pound from last Monday’s weigh in. Logic says that sushi has a ridiculous amount of sodium, so I’ve decided that I will weigh in again tomorrow morning to see if there’s any change.

My biggest problem with this has never been struggling with the eating or the exercising. Those things seem to come naturally once I commit. My problem is patience. I want it to happen now. So much so that I set these unrealistic goals and then I’m really disappointed and upset when I can’t meet them. My goal this week is to just relax. This isn’t some crash diet. I’m not on the Biggest Loser. This is something I want to do for the rest of my life, so I think I just need to settle in and find a happy place between killing myself to lose weight quickly and saying screw everything and gaining it all back.

I did weigh in this morning, including the scale picture, but I’m gonna hold off on posting it until tomorrow. If it’s pretty much the same I’ll just use today’s weight and then go from there. If it’s a drastic change I’ll take a new picture. Either way, my weekly weigh in post will be up tomorrow.

Thank you for the comments! I really appreciate the advice and support!

Actions

Information

One response

7 04 2010
Jess

Let me tell you my little story for 2 weeks ago. 2 weeks ago, I gained 1.2 pounds. There was NO bad eating except high protein intake. So I actually gained muscle, but I still didn’t want to accept that muscle weighs more than fat.

The week after that. I lost 1.8 pounds. That means between the two weeks, there was a bit more than half a pound. AND, that week, I more than doubled my step count, worked out double time at the gym, and my parents even called me crazy.

I wanted to break into Onederland SO BADLY. But it didn’t happen.

However, this past week, this past weigh-in, I dropped 4.6 pounds. Out of nowhere. I somewhat watched my calories, but not that much. I even ate brownies for 3 days (granted they were healthy, Jess-made brownies).

The thing is, the scale is unpredictable. It’ll have good days, it’ll have bad days, and it’ll have HORRIBLE days. But you have to trudge on because you’re not in it for the short haul. You made a life decision. What’s one week in the grand scheme of life. So you won’t lose this week. So you won’t lose next week. Or maybe even the week after. But you bet that weight will be coming off. Stick with it and don’t be discouraged. I know you want to see it coming off, but think about how long it took you to put that weight there. The rate it’s falling off is quick as it is! So be patient 🙂 Stick with your habits. Stick with bettering yourself, both mentally and physically, and set some non-scale goals. Maybe it’s cooking more. Maybe it’s going out for a walk every day. Maybe it’s starting to run, cycle, zumba, spin, yoga. Whatever it is, don’t make EVERYTHING about the scale.

Leave a Reply

