Suck It Up, Princess

25 03 2010

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=crying&iid=169327″ src=”0165/2c6f0481-40c1-4845-8801-39c40ea165f6.jpg?adImageId=11688249&imageId=169327″ width=”372″ height=”459″ /]

See that picture? The one up there ^ ? That was totally me on the treadmill today. Minus the TuTu. I got on, did my usual warm-up and started running. 30 seconds into it I wanted to quit. My boobs hurt, which means it’s almost that time of the month. In normal clothing just doing normal things it doesn’t bother me at all, but even in the tightest of sports bras, any slight movement feels like someone punching me in the chest. Now, I’ve never actually had anyone punch me in the boob, but I’m sure that’s what it would feel like. Usually when I get on the treadmill, after my warm-up I run for 5 or 6 minutes and then start doing intervals. Nope. One minute and I wanted to quit. If anyone was around for me to whine to I would have sounded something like this…

“My boobs  hurt.”

“My left calf is sore”

“I don’t want to do this.”

“Wahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!”

Alas, no one was around to hear me bitching, so I didn’t. Well, at least not out loud. I decided I would at least do a mile, because quitting after less than half a mile is pathetic, and I did not like the idea of having to make up the leftover two miles sometime later in the week.

Apparently around the 3/4 mile mark my boobs got the memo that it was time to put up or shut up and stopped hurting, and I did my scheduled 2.5 miles without shedding any actual tears.

In other oh so exciting news… I did level one of the 30 Day Shred yesterday. It was alright, and I’m sore today, but I don’t know if it’s for me. I’ve always found that I get bored with DVD workouts because there’s no variation. With running I can change it up however I like, but a DVD is the same every single time you do it. So we’ll see. I’ll give it another chance, but I might just stick to yoga and running for now.

Have a great Thursday everyone!

Actions

Information

10 responses

25 03 2010
Tara

I’ve had days like this too – and moments on the treadmill. I always get to the last couple of intervals and just think, “man, I am TIRED. I want to just walk for the rest of my time….maybe I will!”. And then I SUCK IT UP and finish it because it’s mind over matter baby!

25 03 2010
jensmith12

I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels like that sometimes 🙂 Mine always seem to be at the beginning, I’m not sure why, but just like you said, it’s definitely mind over matter.

26 03 2010
Missa

sounds like you got your fitness on! good for you for working through the pain. sometimes, you just got to get in there and do it!

Cheers,
Missa
LosingEthel

26 03 2010
jensmith12

Definitely! I always worry that if I let myself quit once, it will be too easy to quit in the future. Thanks for the comment 🙂

28 03 2010
Vicky Delgada

That’s exactly how I sound on the treadmill. It’s so annoying GRR.

28 03 2010
jensmith12

Well, I guess it’s comforting to know I’m not that only one who gets like that 🙂

28 03 2010
joceycakes

good for you for not stopping! 30 day shred is great, but after about 10 times through all the levels i stopped doing it and spend more time in the gym. Maybe only do it once or twice a week so you won’t get bored too fast? keep up the good work! 🙂

28 03 2010
joceycakes

ps, may i add you to my blogroll?

28 03 2010
jensmith12

In case you don’t see my comment on your blog…. absolutely! And I added you to mine. 🙂

28 03 2010
jensmith12

That’s good advice. I think my problem is that I get really excited and do something a bunch of times and then never want to do it again. Only doing it once or twice a week would definitely help with that 🙂

Leave a Reply

