Bad Habits

19 03 2010

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=smoking&iid=275574″ src=”0272/8f55bf5d-5ad5-48ae-b4b0-26f27a95fa40.jpg?adImageId=11412618&imageId=275574″ width=”380″ height=”254″ /]

I’ve said things before about how the last few months haven’t been wonderful for me in terms of eating healthy and exercising. Part of it was because of a change in my routine from being back in school, but a big part of it was a change in lifestyle.

I started smoking in the fall of 2008, mainly because pretty much everyone I worked with at my new job smoked, and it just sort of happened. I gave it up for quite a long time without any problem, and then around the end of November of 2009, when I had a bunch of stuff due for school, and finals coming up, I started again. It was a way to relieve stress and I guess I thought it would be better than turning to food. I told myself I would quit when finals were over, but of course I didn’t. I started going out with my friends more, and drinking and smoking just seem to go together.

I didn’t realize how much smoking was effecting my health until I started trying to exercise again. I could barely breathe, and was only able to run about half the distance that I had only a couple of months earlier. I was really angry and disappointed in myself, but it wasn’t enough to make me quit.

I guess the light bulb went on the day I realized that I had basically smoked an entire pack in a day. I was disgusted. When I started smoking I would go through a pack maybe every two weeks. I knew if I kept it up much longer I would never be able to quit. So I quit while I could. That was two weeks ago on Wednesday, and I haven’t had one since. It’s been difficult. I live with my mom and she smokes, so I’m always tempted when I see her smoking one. I think the only thing that has stopped me is that I’m back to eating healthy and exercising, and smoking just doesn’t have a place in my life anymore.

Actions

Information

One response

19 03 2010
Barbara

Great job recognizing how smoking effects your health and for being cigarette free for two weeks!

You can do it. It will be hard, but you can do it!

Leave a Reply

