The Time I Was “Arrested”

14 02 2010

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=handcuff&iid=5180612″ src=”b/3/4/4/Mid_section_view_818a.jpg?adImageId=10212195&imageId=5180612″ width=”380″ height=”285″ /]

In July of 2006 I got a job at one of the big local grocery stores. Unfortunately I started right as the supervisor for my section was going on vacation, so my schedule was a mess. They don’t know who to put me with for training so my shifts kept getting switched or cancelled without my knowledge.

On one of these days I got to work, and found out that my shift had been cancelled. So I called my sister to come pick me up, but had an hour or so to kill before she could come. So I started wandering around the store, checking out makeup and flipping through books. I noticed that this guy was watching me, so I went down another aisle, and a minute later I saw him again. I knew he was following me when I went down an aisle and quickly turned around to see him right behind me. It was the middle of the afternoon on a weekday and the store was practically empty, so it was starting to creep me out. I went and double checked my schedule and then decided to leave and maybe go wait in the coffee shop down the street.

I walked through the automatic doors and out into the sunny July day, and was promptly grabbed by El Creepo from inside. He started to pull me towards the side of the building and instinct took over and I yelled at him to let me go and then starting kicking and punching him. He kept saying “You need to come with me.” I’m not a moron, so when a guy dressed in jeans and a t-shirt tries to grab me, I don’t just comply. So of course, I punched him in the face. Then he said “If you don’t come with me right now I’ll arrest you for resisting.” He chose this moment to finally identify himself as one of the security people at the store. I tried to tell him I work there, and he just kept saying he saw me stealing and I need to come with him. I knew I hadn’t so I went upstairs with him to his office.

Once we were up there he dumped out my bag which held my work uniform, my lunch, some makeup, my wallet and my cellphone. He stared at all the stuff for awhile and then held up a half-empty lip gloss with the label practically worn off and said something like “Do you think it’s okay to steal?” I don’t know if he was stupid or just embarrassed and trying to find something to pin on me, but he didn’t understand that I wouldn’t have been able to use half the lip gloss and wear the label down before exiting the store. At this point I asked him to please call the cops, because he had absolutely no reason to hold me there, but refused to let me go.

The cop, thankfully a very reasonable man, got there a few minutes later. He asked to speak to me alone and told me that they’d had a lot of trouble with this security guard (interesting named Wolfgang) grabbing people and coming up with nothing stolen. He asked me to come sit in the cop car for a minute while he ran my name just to satisfy the guy, and I agreed. Even though I knew I had done nothing wrong, sitting the back of a cop car really sucked, because all the people walking by and staring didn’t know that. After he ran my name and it came back clean, I was allowed to go.

Not long after I got a letter in the mail from the store saying I owed them $500 for disturbing the peace and having a negative impact on their customers. I was also banned from the store for 2 years. I really couldn’t believe their nerve.  I called the cop who was there that day and he told me to just ignore it, and that if it didn’t go away, I could file a complaint against them for what they did. I never heard anything else so I just let it go.

Even though it’s been almost four years I’ve never been back to the store. Not because I’m embarrassed or angry, but because I’m worried that if I ever saw that guy again (who still works there, according to a friend of mine) I’d beat the living hell out of him. And then I’d probably get arrested for real.

Actions

Information

One response

14 02 2010
Missa

I agree. You should stay away from that store. I too would not be able to resist the temptation to kick that guy’s tush up and down and all around!

Cheers,
Missa
LosingEthel

Leave a Reply

