Ding Dong The Witch Is… Coming To Dinner

11 02 2010

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=dinner&iid=274073″ src=”0270/00d60b58-ca0b-417c-b518-e9225129ac58.jpg?adImageId=10143845&imageId=274073″ width=”380″ height=”254″ /]

We have a tradition in my family of going out to dinner for birthdays, specifically mine and my sister’s. Even though my parents are divorced, they both come, along with their partners, and it’s great. We go to a nice restaurant and spend a couple of hours talking, reminiscing and telling old stories. I’ve always looked forward to these dinners. Until now.

Last year, my sister’s boyfriend came to both her dinner, and mine, which was great, since he’s a nice guy and fits in well. However, his mom also came to my sister’s dinner, and she’s, well, not great. And that’s putting it very nicely. The first time I met this woman she acted all nice at first, and then proceeded to act like I wasn’t there at all. She never looked at me, spoke to me, or even acknowledged anything I said. I didn’t hate her, but I wasn’t her biggest fan either. The other brief times I met her were the same. She’s someone who dominates conversations, talks over you, and needs to be the best and brightest.

At my sister’s dinner last year I didn’t speak more than two words to my sister, her boyfriend, or my dad because she wouldn’t stop talking. Or fawning over my father. It sucked and made for a very long dinner, but I still didn’t hate her.

Now I hate her. In November my sister had a minor operation and was in the hospital. My mom and I spent the day there with her, and at about 5pm, this woman came by to visit. I was sitting in a chair at the end of the bed, between the wall and the bed, but I thought there was enough room to get by behind me. Before she said a word to either my mom or I, she shoved her hand in my face and started waving it and said “Come on, come on, come on. Move!” I moved out of her way immediately, but it took me a little longer to pick my jaw up off the floor. I’m not sure why she felt it so beyond her to say “Excuse me” or “Could I please get by you”, but apparently she did. She didn’t say a word to me for the rest of the time she was there.

Now, it’s not like she punched me in the face or cursed me out, but it was still rude and completely unnecessary. I was raised to be polite and kind to people, whether it’s family or strangers. Maybe she wasn’t, but that’s no excuse.

Needless to say, I’m not looking forward to seeing her at dinner on Friday. I’ve been wondering how I should handle the situation. I have absolutely no use for her, and I will admit, I still have some anger over the incident. This is how I see it. I can either….

A. Let her dominate the entire dinner…again, and just sit quietly and be miserable.

B. Talk as much as I want, refusing to let her interrupt me or talk over me, but potentially risk being seen as rude.

C. Get absolutely plastered and just ride the wave of inebriation

OR….and this is my favorite option…

D. Follow her into the bathroom, lock her in a stall, and tell everyone she went home sick.

Obviously I wouldn’t actually lock her in the bathroom, but option C is looking pretty shiny.

I’m just going to try to make the best of it. I’m not going to be rude to her, but I’m also not going to let her hijack the dinner and make everyone else miserable. Hopefully all goes well. Wish me luck.

*Image via PicApp

Actions

Information

One response

11 02 2010
Missa

Well, being it isn’t your birthday and it is your sister’s, I would leave it up to her. You are there to support her and wish her well. My guess is if it bothers you, it will probably bother your sister. Hopefully, she will nip it in the bud.

Best of luck!
Cheers,
Missa
LosingEthel

Leave a Reply

