Thanks For The Laugh

25 04 2010

I need to preface this post with a simple statement. Boys are weird. I grew up with the idea of men as distant, emotionally stunted (by design or by choice, I wasn’t sure), strong and solid. This, I’m sure, has everything to do with my father, who I’ve only seen cry once, and who I wouldn’t be surprised to see stand still in a hurricane as the world goes flying by him. Anyways, to my surprise, and alternately my excitement and disappointment, men are not like this. They are as emotional and unstable as the rest of us, even more so, in a lot of cases. Where am I going with this? Let me explain…

There’s this guy, let’s call him…screw it, his name is Zach. (What are the chances he’ll read this anyways?) We very briefly dated two years ago. And when I say brief, I mean it in the blink and you’ll miss it kind of way. I can summarize our relationship in a sentence. Dinner, movie, fight, makeup, fight, fight, fight, car door slam, obscenities, end scene. It was bad. And it caused a lot of problems because we had the same friends. It’s taken a long time, but we’ve become friends again. It was going smoothly, until a few days ago. I’ve been hanging out with him and another friend of ours a lot, and as far as I know, I’ve been treating them both the same way. As in, I haven’t been buddies with one, and batting my eyelashes at the other. So I’m not sure why this is happening…

Anyways… a couple of days ago I was spending the night at their house on the couch, and he texted me asking if I wanted to come sleep in his bed. First of all… you really couldn’t walk up the stairs to ask me? Laaaame. Not like I would have said yes anyways. I said no, in the nicest way possible, blaming it on the alcohol, and went to sleep. He tried to get me to stay there again last night, and I said no and came home instead.

On to the funny stuff… Tonight we were texting back and forth, and he started asking me weird questions, like who I was texting yesterday and who I’ve been talking to, and refused to explain why he was asking. He’s kind of strange, so I let it go. A few minutes ago we were talking about this show we both watch and he asked what season I was up to. I answered him and asked him the same question. This is the reply I got.

“Starting the second. So what’s your story? Many boyfriends?”

I couldn’t help myself, I burst out laughing. And my response was “Whaaat?”

I finally answered him, and asked why he wanted to know. “Just wondering.” Suuuure.

I have a feeling this is going to get very awkward. I need to figure out a way to tell him I only want to be friends without either hurting his feelings or bruising his ego, because I’m pretty sure if either of those happen, he’ll go back into jerk mode and I won’t be able to hang out with him or two of my other friends who are his roommates. And it’s really easy to hurt his feelings. He’s ridiculously sensitive.

Heeeeeeelp me. What do I do? Just ignore the weirdness? Pretend I don’t notice? That’s my only game plan right now.


Actions

Information

2 responses

28 04 2010
joceycakes

i would ignore it for now… if it comes up again though, the strange questions maybe try to find a way to let him down easly… boys are so confusing!!

28 04 2010
Jenna

Indeed they are. Thanks for the advice! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

